WDBS Champion of Champions 2023 | Qualification & Format

Home » WDBS Champion of Champions 2023 | Qualification & Format

World Disability Billiards and Snooker (WDBS) has today confirmed the format for this season’s Champion of Champions tournament, which will be held for the first time at the Landywood Snooker Club this summer.

To run on Saturday 10 June 2023 (a change from the previously advertised 3 June), the prestigious tournament will be played under an exciting new format which will reward the most consistent players over the previous two years within each classification group.

Nigel Mawer and Mike Busst hold trophy

The top two ranked players in each group (1/2, 3, 4, 5, 6A, 6B, 7 and 8) will be invited to contest a special long-format match to crown the Champion of Champions from their category. Each final will be played on a stunning Xing Pai table at the Landywood Snooker Club.

The prize for each of the group champions will include being presented with the Nick Oliver Trophy, prize money and a special prize of an invitation to the professional Champion of Champions tournament later this year, to receive a coaching masterclass from former Masters champion Alan McManus during the event.

Alan McManus smiling


The all-important seeding cut-off for qualification will follow this year’s Hull Open, meaning that there are still two events to go with trips to Bruges and Hull to come.

Points earned at the 2020 Belgian Open will be removed from the ranking list following this year’s tournament in Bruges, meaning that the final qualification period will include the results from all eight events held from the 2021 Stockport Open until the 2023 Hull Open.

Three snooker tables

At the time of writing, the players currently in line to qualify for the tournament are:

Groups 1/2

  • Tony Southern
  • Shahab Siddiqui

Group 3

  • Kal Mattu
  • Nigel Coton

Group 4

  • Daniel Blunn
  • William Thomson

Group 5

  • Mickey Chambers
  • Dean Simmons

Group 6A

  • Alan Reynolds
  • Faisal Butt

Group 6B

  • Leroy Williams
  • Peter Geronimo

Group 7

  • Mike Gillespie
  • Dylan Rees

Group 8

  • Shabir Ahmed
  • Lewis Knowles

Please note that some of these positions may still change depending on results during the next two ranking events. The confirmed qualifiers will be invited following the conclusion of the Hull Open on 21 May 2023.

Entry remains open for the final two ranking events of the season via WPBSA SnookerScores.